Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Tennessee Personal Injury Lawyer
Hablamos Español Local 865-500-HURT Toll Free 866-862-4855
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
Tennessee Personal Injury Lawyers > Pigeon Forge Divorce Lawyer

Pigeon Forge Divorce Lawyer

Getting a divorce is never easy. You are likely feeling a number of emotions, and wondering about what your future will look like. To add to this difficult time, you will also have to navigate a legal system that is quite complex. Getting a divorce can also be time-consuming and expensive, depending on the facts of your case. It is important to know that you do not have to go through it alone. Our Pigeon Forge divorce lawyer will guide you through it and ensure your rights are upheld.

Divorce Laws in Pigeon Forge

State law outlines many requirements for divorce. In order to obtain a divorce in Tennessee, you or your spouse must have lived in the state for six months immediately before you file.

The plaintiff, who is the person that files the papers with the court, must also state the grounds on which they want a divorce. Fault-based grounds include adultery, cruelty, felony conviction, abandonment, and others. When filing on fault-based grounds, plaintiffs must also prove their accusations. Plaintiffs can also file a no-fault divorce by stating irreconcilable differences. To obtain a no-fault divorce, you and your spouse must also live separate and apart and not have marital relations for two years.

As in many other states, Tennessee imposes a waiting period on divorces. If you and your spouse do not have children together, you must wait 60 days from filing before finalizing your divorce. If you and your spouse do have children together, the waiting period is increased to 90 days.

Child-Related Issues

When a divorce involves children, it is even more emotional and complex. Parents can agree about which parent will have primary residential status, or a judge can make the final decision. Parents can also agree to a parenting schedule and as long as it reflects the best interests of the child, the court will likely approve it. The parent who does not have primary residential status will typically also pay child support to the other parent until the child is 18 years old or graduates from high school.

Property Division Issues

Dividing marital property is also a complicated matter during divorce. Marital property is divided fairly, although not necessarily equally, during divorce in Tennessee. Marital property includes all assets and liabilities accumulated during the marriage by the couple. Determining which property is marital is not always easy.

For example, inheritances are typically classified as separate property, regardless of when they were acquired. However, commingling an inheritance, such as placing it in a joint bank account, can make it marital property.

Our Experienced Divorce Lawyer in Pigeon Forge Can Assist with Your Case

The divorce process is complex, but you do not have to go through it alone. At Fox, Farley, Willis & Burnette, our Pigeon Forge divorce lawyer can explain the law and how it applies to your case while helping you obtain the best possible outcome. Call us today at 866-862-4855 or fill out our online form to schedule a consultation and to get the legal help you need.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Segment Pixel