LaFollette Uninsured Motorist Lawyer
Although it is against the law to drive without automobile insurance in Tennessee, people do it. And when one of the Tennessee drivers who choose not to have automobile insurance causes an accident that results in another party’s injury, the injured party typically only has one option for pursuing compensation for his or her related damages: filing an uninsured motorist claim.
Your Uninsured Motorist Coverage Requirements
Tennessee law requires that all drivers purchase the following amounts or more in liability insurance:
- $25,000 for each injury or death per accident;
- $50,000 for the total number of injuries or deaths per accident; and
- $15,000 for property damage per accident.
Drivers are also required to carry uninsured motorist coverage in equal amounts to their liability coverage. However, Tennessee drivers are permitted to waive this requirement in writing if they do not want to purchase uninsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage provides compensation for damages a driver suffers in collisions with uninsured motorists.
Filing a Claim After a Hit and Run Collision
A hit and run is a collision where one party leaves the scene of the accident before the other has a chance to get his or her contact and insurance information. Victims injured in this type of accident can file uninsured motorist claims to seek compensation for their damages.
Filing an Uninsured Motorist Claim
If you were injured in a hit and run or in a collision with a driver who did not have automobile insurance at the time of the accident, you can pursue monetary compensation for your personal injury damages through an uninsured motorist claim – that is, if you have this coverage. Although it can be tempting to waive your uninsured motorist coverage to save yourself some money, doing so can leave you facing steep personal injury and vehicle damage expenses if you are ever involved in a collision with an uninsured driver.
Unlike a personal injury claim, which you file with the negligent party’s insurance provider, you must file your uninsured motorist claim with your own automobile insurance provider. Report the accident to your provider as soon as possible after it happens. Your policy states how long you have after an accident to file an uninsured motorist claim, and many policies do not give holders much time to file claims.
In your claim, you must prove that the uninsured motorist’s negligence caused your accident and resulting injury and that he or she does not have automobile insurance. Your lawyer can help you obtain the documentation you need to prove both of these facts and to demonstrate the extent of the financial damages you suffered.
Work with an Experienced LaFollette Uninsured Motorist Lawyer
When you are injured because of a hit and run or an uninsured motorist’s negligence, you can recover compensation for your related damages through a personal injury claim. To start working on your claim with one of the experienced LaFollette uninsured motorist lawyers on our team, contact Fox, Farley, Willis & Burnette today to set up your legal consultation with us.