La Follette DUI Accident Lawyer
Tennessee DUI Accident Lawyer Serving Injury Victims in La Follette
Nobody in La Follette, Tennessee should have to worry about getting hurt in a serious accident caused by a drunk driver. However, careful drivers are injured or killed much too often in Tennessee in DUI accidents. According to a fact sheet from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Tennessee has a much higher rate of DUI-related injuries and deaths than the national average, suggesting that drunk driving collisions are a particular problem in the state.
If you or someone you love was injured in a motor vehicle crash caused by a drunk driver, you should speak with a La Follette DUI accident lawyer as soon as possible to learn more about filing a claim for compensation and holding the responsible party accountable.
Get the Facts About DUI Accidents in La Follette, Tennessee
How often do DUI accidents happen in La Follette and throughout the state of Tennessee? The CDC cites the following facts and figures about drunk driving in Tennessee:
- 3,423 drunk driving deaths occurred in Tennessee between 2003-2012;
- Death rate for individuals aged 21-34 in Tennessee drunk driving accidents is 8 per 100,000 population, compared with the national average of 6.7 per 100,000 population;
- Death rate for individuals aged 35 and older in DUI crashes in Tennessee is 4.9 per 100,000 population, compared with the national average of 3.1 per 100,000 population;
- Death rate for all ages in Tennessee drunk driving collisions is 4.6 per 100,000 population, compared with the national average of 3.3 per 100,000 population;
- Men are much more likely than women to be killed in a drunk driving crash; and
- Males suffer fatal injuries in Tennessee DUI crashes at a rate of 7.5 per 100,000 population, while females suffer deadly injuries in these collisions at a rate of 1.8 per 100,000 population.
Comparative Fault and Your DUI Crash Claim in La Follette
Can an injury victim still recover damages if she was also negligent in the accident that caused her injuries? For instance, if the plaintiff was struck by a drunk driver who was speeding and driving recklessly, but the plaintiff was also driving at an excessive speed at the time of the collision, will the plaintiff be able to obtain compensation through a personal injury claim?
This question raises the issue of comparative fault under Tennessee law. Generally speaking, as long as a plaintiff is not equally (or more) at fault for the crash, then the law allows the plaintiff to recover damages. In other words, once the plaintiff bears 50 percent or more of the fault, then she cannot recover. Any situation where the plaintiff is less than 50 percent at fault means that she will be able to obtain damages, but her award is reduced by her percentage of the fault.
Contact a La Follette DUI Accident Lawyer
Tennessee law (T.C.A. § 28-3-104) gives plaintiffs one year from the date of a drunk driving crash to file a claim for compensation. As such, you should speak with a La Follette DUI accident lawyer as soon as possible. Contact Fox Willis Burnette, PLLC for more information about how we can help with your lawsuit.